

ANNUAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Sunday, August 2, 2020 at 3:15 PM In Person & Virtual Canaan Valley Resort, Tucker County

Meeting was called to order by President, Jack Woodrum, Summers County. Roll call was taken. A quorum was established.

The following Board Members from respective counties were present: Jack David Woodrum/Summers, Tim McCormick/Ohio, Nancy Cartmill/Cabell, Dr. Richard Lechliter/Mineral, Dave Price/ Preston, Lisa Heasley/Wetzel, Dick Waybright/Jackson, George Skidmore/Braxton, Mark Scott/Randolph, Denise Scalph/Fayette, Rick Handley/Mason.

Following were attending virtually: Agnes Queen/Lewis, Scott Varner, Rod Wyman/Lewis, Terry Cutright/Upshur, Tammy Tincher/Greenbrier, Greg Puckett/Mercer.

Other/s attending virtually: Kristi Tenney/Upshur

Absent: Bob Tebay/Wood.

Also Present: SeanSikora/Monongalia, David Kelsing/Randolph, Paul Cowey/Ohio, Cindy Whetsell/Lewis, Renetta McClure/Monongalia, Colleen Coon/Monongalia, Don Smith/Preston, Jennifer Piercy & Denise Allen, CCAWV.

Motion to approve by Dave Price and seconded by Dick Waybright to approve minutes of May 18, 2020 meeting. Motion carried.

Reports from President McCormick regarding NACo annual dues.

Discussion & Adoption of Legislative Agenda and recommendations from Legislative Committee included the following three (3) priorities:

- 1. 1% Sales Tax
- 2. County Publication Provided Via Website
- 3. Hotel Motel Tax from AirBnB through Marketplace Facilitator.

New Business: Updates on Covid-19; will continue to forward updates and communicate through Round Tables. Discussion of a Fall meeting was cancelled for 2020.

Executive Director Piercy reported the following: Financials:

Provided information on Profit & Loss Budget vs. Actual; Financial Statements Cash Basis.

Motion to approve by Tim McCormick and second by Dr. Lechliter to approve financial reports. Motion carried.

Jennifer provided the request from Boone County Hardship for Dues reduction for 2020-2021

Discussion followed including all counties, if requested to be reduced by 75% for 2020/2021 CCAWV Annual Dues.

Motion to approve by Tim McCormick and seconded by Rick Handley.

Discussion followed to include all counties if requested by letter: Motion carried.

Legal Counsel Contract: Proposal

Jennifer presented the Legal Counsel Contract from Wendy Greve with Pullin, Fowler & Flanagan, Brown & Poe, PLLC. Greve would review and prepare documentation for Covid-19 and legal information for counties to with little discussion. Commissioner Handley moved to accept the Legal Counsel Contract Proposal as written with Commissioner Cartmill seconding the motion. Motion carried.

Annual Audit

Discussion of audit as presented by Ellis & Ellis.

Commissioner McCormick moved to accept the Annual Audit as provided with Commissioner Price seconding the motion. Motion carried.

Opioid Litigation Update

Board Overview of District Meeting Agenda for Business Meeting

Other Committee Reports:

CCAWV Dental/Vision Committee: Nancy Cartmill/Chair, Tim McCormick, Jack Woodrum, Agnes Queen, Willie Parker, Jennifer Piercy & Pete Thackston Would discuss and meet afterwards.

CCAWV Where Do We Go from Here Committee: Nancy Cartmill/Chair, Tim McCormick, Denise Scalph & Agnes Queen – No Updates.

Budget Committee: Nancy Cartmill/Chair Tim McCormick, Dick Waybright, Rick Handley & Greg Puckett.No Updates.

WVCoRP Committee: Willie Parker/Chair, Dave Price, Greg Puckett, Dave Tolliver, Jim Whitacre & Blair Couch. WVCoRP are now accepting municipalities and fire departments. Annual Meeting is scheduled for September 25th.

CCAWV Services Review Committee:

Tim McCormick/Chair, Ron Watson, Nancy Cartmill, Agnes Queen, Rick Handley, Willie Parker, Cindy Whetsell & Jennifer Piercy. No Updates.

CCAWV Representatives to WV EMS Board: Nancy Cartmill – Information on Raleigh Parkways was provided.

Advisory Board to Division of Highways: Nancy Cartmill. Board met by phone; Goal is how to make new bike walking trails happen; new training regulations are available.

CCAWV Representatives to the Regional Jail Authority: Tim McCormick. Current bond ending date is September 2021. October 2019 requested Secretary Sandy to report to Legislature no info has been received to date; report was to provide take counties out of Regional Jail Authority.

CCAWV Representatives to PVC: Dick Waybright. No Updates.

CCAWV Representatives to Courthouse Facilities Authority: Nancy Cartmill & Tim McCormick Conference call is scheduled for October 8th.

CCAWV Representatives to State Records Management & Preservation Board: Jack Woodrum. No Updates.

CCAWV Representatives to Community Leadership Academy Planning/Advisory Committee: Agnes Queen & Jennifer Piercy. Last meeting cancelled – has not been rescheduled.

NACo Report: Tim McCormick reported that Judge Gary Moore/Kentucky was voted new President; annual meeting has been cancelled due to Covid.

CCAWV Representatives to Prosecuting Attorney's Institute: Agnes Queen & Jack Woodrum No meetings scheduled; have been receiving some emails; no major issues.

CCAWV Representatives to the WVACo Board/EOC/MARC: Nancy Cartmill, Tim McCormick, Denise Scalph, Ron Watson & Jack Woodrum. Conference call meeting to approve budget; also have a scheduled call w/EOC August

WV Public Health Advisory Committee: Jennifer Piercy. No Updates.

WV SIRN Executive Committee: Jennifer Piercy. No Updates.

Old Business:

None

Adjournment:

Motion to adjourn by Commissioner Price seconded by Commissioner Waybright. Motion carried.