The CCAWV Essay Contest is held annually in recognition of National County Government Month each April. One of CCAWV’s goals is to increase information and public awareness about county government and the office of County Commissioner.  As an initiative of this goal we are excited to partner with West Virginia educators to encourage students to learn and write about their local county governing body, the County Commission.  Student participants are asked to type a 500-word essay on the topic and a panel of CCAWV Staff judge the essays. This year, we had close to 200 entries from 8 counties. We awarded first, second and third place along with four honorable mention awards.

Third Place:

Hunter Withrow from Winfield Middle School, Putnam County

Second Place:

Isabella Ferrell from St Francis Catholic, Monongalia County

First Place:

Anthony Godwin, Braxton County Middle School, Braxton County

Honorable Mention

Adrionna Bennett, Wahama Middle School, Mason County
Julia Leyden, South Middle School, Monongalia County
Eden Forguson, South Middle School, Monongalia County
Mary Jane Campbell, Braxton County Middle School, Braxton County

        Endorsed Partners

uscommSVG-logo-2WVCorp    Country Roads Leasingempowerlogo